Aftermath, etc.

Hernani came and went much faster than I thought.

A happy write-up in the Cornell Daily Sun is here: http://cornellsun.com/node/32495

It was quite a ride.  The cast bonded like crazy – displaying multitudes of love at our little informal cast party (which might have been the most fun I’ve ever had here outside of the Schwartz Center…I know, I’m a dork.)  But everything pulled together, and – even if I wanted to pass out from the nervousness before and after each show – it all went smoothly.

Got feedback from friends, advisers, staff and reviews.  It’s all useful.  You learn to take criticism here – if I ever do something that’s just bad, I am made aware of it.  Character building!

Amazingly, the day after Hernani closed I was in rehearsal for Love’s Labours Lost – this is going to be a good one.  The design is beautiful, the director (Bruce) knows the text, and it will be a great crash course in performing Shakespeare.  I’ve been doing theatre for almost twelve years, and I’ve never done a single Shakespeare (it’s atrocious!).  Here is my chance for redemption!

Meanwhile I’m looking ahead to summer plans (Theatre Festival applications, anyone?) and to next semester’s Assistant Directing initiative – The Body Project. It combines two of my loves – theatre and feminism.  Couldn’t be sweeter!  Plus it’s directed by a recent alum, Emily Ranii (Class of 2007) who directed me when I was a wee freshman.  She’s very good…can’t wait to see what we can do together!

Leave a comment

Filed under Productions, Theatre

Leave a Reply

