A Week in the Life (God’s Ear, LLL, auditions)

As Assistant Stage Manager of LOVE’S LABOR’S LOST, I get to work thirty hours a week, from 6:30-11:30 every evening, to help the SM out and make sure the show goes smoothly. Right now, I am helping the actors get confident with getting off-book for their lines, because the show will mount in just four weeks’ time! I get to see Katherine as well, and I must add, her Shakespeare is wonderful.

Tonight, we saw the final dress rehearsal of GOD’S EAR, because we’ll be rehearsing during its opening, and I must say, it is one hell of a show. Incredible. Personally, I found it moving, engaging, lively, and visceral in a way that only a new play can prove. Its language thrusts you into a world where communication is scattered and clichés are a dime a dozen. Baker’s Dozen? Don’t cry over spilt eggs, if you gotta make an omelet. But if you think about it, that’s how we really communicate, on some level: We misfire and use tried and true phrases to communicate unique feelings and thoughts.

*****A disclaimer*****

THERE IS NO LATE SEATING FOR THIS SHOW!!!

GET

THERE

EARLY!!!

*****disclaimer done*****

It’s worth it. You don’t want to sit this one out in the lobby for 82 minutes without an intermission.

In other news, once I finish this blog entry, I will be putting the finishing touches on an essay for Bruce’s Shakespeare class (Bruce= director for Love’s Labor’s Lost) on King Lear. And who says Theatre majors take only easy classes?! It is so amazing to go from one class, my ASM job, where I am working on the practical end of shows, to another class, taught by the director of that show, and learn about stagecraft, character development and relationships. It is rare indeed that a department gives such holistic education to their students.

And once my essay is done, I get to turn my head towards AUDITIONS for THE HISTORY BOYS. Pick a monologue, get 8-16 bars of singing under my belt, and stand in front of the big wigs for the last time this year, and my last time at Cornell. We’re regionally premiering The History Boys, which will prove to be a smash, given the body of talent we have in the undergrads, and the accolades for the director, Melanie Dreyer, who is new to Cornell this year. I can’t wait to see who gets in, and the promising product the performance will most probably be. Period. (Forgive the alliteration; it’s late).

I’ll write more in a few weeks, and let you know how everything shapes up as auditions loom nearer and then the opening night curtain for LLL. But until then, GO SEE GOD’S EAR (on time!) and keep watching the SchwartzScene!

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “A Week in the Life (God’s Ear, LLL, auditions)

  1. katherine

    Gosh golly gee, thanks Tyler 🙂

Leave a Reply

