Auditions Wednesday September 2nd!

Hi everyone,

This is Kelly Durkin, senior Theatre Arts and Psychology double major.  I thought I’d share a little bit about what’s already underway at the Schwartz Center as students are moving in around campus.  A Servant of Two Masters is already rehearsing for its opening September 17.  The whole show is on wheels–roller skates, scooters, and unicycles!  I’d suggest getting tickets soon, because the first show usually sells really well!

I’m very excited for general auditions next week on Wednesday September 2nd from 7-11 for this semester’s 3 other productions: Nice People Dancing to Good Country Music, Love Song, and Romeo and Juliet .  Audition for one, two or all three!  Personally, I’m hoping you’ll audition for the first Black Box of the season, Love Song by John Kolvenbach, because I’m directing it!  It’s a funny, adorable exploration of love in all its forms.  The characters are complex and exciting and the dialogue makes me laugh every time I read the play over.  I will be casting 5 parts: 2 male, 2 female, and one either male or female.  The Black Box is a great opportunity for students who aren’t involved in mainstage productions to be a part of the season and get to know the Schwartz Center.  It’s a smaller time commitment: Monday-Friday rehearsals around 4:30-6:30 pm instead of the 6 days a week/4 hours a day that mainstage shows rehearse.  I met with the designers today and I’m really excited to be working with such great people.  I think this show is going to be so fun and I can’t wait to get a cast!  Love Song begins rehearsal Monday September 7 and performs October 2-4.

For more information about the shows, auditions, and to sign-up for an audition slot, go to the callboard in the green room of the Schwartz Center (to the left of the elevator).  Auditioners are asked to prepare a one-minute contemporary monologue.  If you’ve never auditioned before, I strongly suggest contacting one of our RPTAs who teach Intro to Acting and are always offering audition help.  They’ll help you pick material and meet with you to work on your monologue.  Their e-mails can also be found on the callboard.  I’ve found them to be a terrific resource in the past.  E-mail them soon, though, because they’re pretty popular.

I hope to see lots of new–and of course old–faces at auditions Wednesday!  Welcome freshman and transfers!  And here’s to a great year!

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Productions, Theatre

Leave a Reply

